Gmail is an excellent reliable service overall, and a great choice as your primary email provider. However, just like most other email providers, Gmail isn’t perfect, and does have a fair number of issues that can cause user dissatisfaction, resulting in a hunt for alternatives or the need to learn how to delete Gmail account from MAC or other PC’s.
Deleting Gmail account is not as easy as installing the email provider, because there several little yet important things to take care of to ensure that you’ve securely deleted your emails, and any personal information you may’ve entered when setting up your Gmail account.
Before learning how to delete your Gmail account, it’s important to note that this action is permanent, and cannot be undone. That said, here’s a detailed guide on how to delete Gmail account from MAC or any other computer you’re using.
Table of Contents
- 1 Reasons to Delete a Gmail Account
- 2 Can I Delete a Gmail Account?
- 3 How to Backup Gmail Data Before Deletion?
- 4 Deleting a Google Workspace (formerly G suite) Account
- 5 How to Recover a Deleted Gmail account?
- 6 Restoring Deleted Gmail Account Data
- 7 Final Thoughts
Reasons to Delete a Gmail Account
There are myriad different reasons why you’d want to delete your Gmail account, most notably because you don’t feel the need to use it anymore. Another big reason to get rid of your Gmail account on MAC is due to the embarrassing email address you created years ago.
Gmail offers a rich set of features, but also doesn’t offer a few that you may need, and ones that you may have found in another email provider. Even though Gmail gives you access to more tool, leading email services such as Hotmail aren’t far behind. Hotmail in fact has recently received a big update, which brings the service on par with Gmail.
Storage space is also a key reason users may want to delete Gmail account and switch to another provider, because Gmail provides users with 15 GB storage for its free service, where Outlook gives you the same 15 GB storage, but steps it up a few notches with another 5 GB for storing on their OneDrive cloud product.
Can I Delete a Gmail Account?
Yes, you can delete your Gmail account, which will also delete all the emails along with it. But Gmail or Google per se may not delete all your data immediately depending on the device you’re using.
In terms of security, once you delete your Gmail account, Google will not assign your email address to someone else, so you don’t have to worry about someone coming in taking over your deleted Gmail address.
If you’re wondering if you can delete your Gmail account permanently, then it’s worth noting that you won’t be able to send and receive emails anymore. Further, deleting your Gmail account does not delete the other Google services your account may be associated with such as Google Drive or Google Play.
How to Backup Gmail Data Before Deletion?
Even if you aren’t deleting your Gmail account, it’s highly important to take regular backups, and here’s why! Our advanced internet technology era has made it easier for hackers to compromise your Gmail account, and steal personal information.
If your account is hacked, you may also loose important messages — another reason why you’d want to keep a good and regular Gmail backup. Backing up your Gmail account is easy, and can be done in several ways.
Backup Gmail Account with Google Takeout
Google Takeout may sound like a fancy name for a food takeout service, but is indeed the company’s backup service for many of their products including Gmail and YouTube. The service when used properly creates a copy of your entire Google account including your Gmail account.
1. To get started with Google Takeout, head to https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout?pli=1, and then sign into your Google account.
2. From the right side of the screen, scroll down until you see the “Mail” option. Then slider the slider to the right to back up your Gmail account.
3. When you slide the slider to the right, you will be provided with other options for exactly what you’d like to backup, so choose accordingly.
4. After you’ve selected the data you’d like to backup, hit the Next button, and you will come to the Customize archive format screen. Here you’ll be greeted with several different customization options such as file type – the default is zip, but other options include .tgz file type, archive size – the maximum is 50 GB, and delivery method – options include Google Drive, Dropbox or OneDrive.
5. Now that you’ve selected your delivery method, simply click the Create Archive button, and you’ll notified when your archive is ready for download.
How to Delete a Gmail Account? A Step-by-Step Guide
Before deleting your Gmail account, there are a few things worth noting. First, you’ll lose all the data and content in the respective account including emails, files, calendars, and photos.
Further, you also won’t be able to use any Google services in that account including the ones mentioned above. You will also lose any subscriptions you have associated with that email account. Follow the following steps to delete your Gmail account.
1. Go to myaccount.google.com.
2. Scroll Down to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data”
3. Next, click on Delete a service, and then you will be asked to verify yourself. Then click on Gmail and lastly the trash box icon.
Deleting a G workspace (formerly G suite) account
Deleting a Google Workspace (formerly G suite) Account
Formerly known as G Suite, Google Workspace includes a plethora of productivity tools such as Google Drive, Google Docs, Gmail, and much more all in a single location.
Google Workspace offers three key improvements — an integrated user experience, new brand identity, and new ways to get started with different solutions.
Before deleting Google Workspace, it’s important to download any Google Workspace data you may want to save such as Google Calendar Events, and Gmail messages. The easiest way to go about this is by using the data export tool.
To use this tool, your Google Workspace account must be at least 30 days old, and you must be the administrator. You should also have 2-step verification turned on for your account, and have less than 1000 users on your account.
Deleting your Google Workspace account is pretty straightforward, where you first:
2. From the menu, click on Billing, and then Subscriptions.
3. Locate the subscription you wish to cancel, and click Cancel Subscription.
4. You will be asked for the reason for cancellation, so select and click Cancel.
5. Lastly confirm your cancellation by clicking Yes, I am sure.
How to Recover a Deleted Gmail account?
If you’ve deleted your Gmail account, and would like to have it reinstated, there’s no need to break a sweat yet! Google gives you roughly two to three weeks to recover your deleted account.
But if it’s been more than two to three weeks since you deleted your Gmail account, you will only be able to sign into Gmail as usual, but will not be able to recover the data from the account.
1. To recover a deleted Gmail account, head to the Google Account Recovery page, and sign in with your credentials.
2. You will then be asked a few questions to verify yourself, so answer them to the best of your knowledge.
3. If you’re finding it challenging to answer the questions, you can visit this page for tips on completing account recovery questions.
4. After you’ve recovered your account, you will be asked to create a new password that you’ve never used before.
Restoring Deleted Gmail Account Data
Now that you know how to backup and delete Gmail data and account, let’s take a look at how to restore deleted Gmail account data in case the need arises. But if course, to restore Gmail account data, you will need the backup file.
However, when you unzip the Gmail backup file, you will see several .MBOX files, which can be cumbersome to view to say the least. To restore Gmail account data, you first have to download the Mozilla Thunderbird email client.
After you’re logged onto Thunderbird, click on Tools, and then Add-ons, and then search for the ImportExportTools from the add-on section, and install it. Now go back to the local folders tab, click on tools, and select Import .MBOX file, and then locate the .MBOX in your Google Gmail backup unzipped file.
Depending on the number of emails you have, the add-on may take time to load your emails into Thunderbird, but you will see them pop as they’re loaded. Now you can select the emails you want to restore, and drag and drop them by clicking on the Gmail accounts inbox option.
Gmail is perhaps the best free email service provider, but does have issues! Good news is that deleting Gmail account on MAC or PC is easy, but make sure you create a backup, so that you can restore it in the event you need the deleted emails at a later time.